COVID-19: Status Of 20 Governors Unknown

The COVID-19 status of 20 out of the 36 states governors in the country is not known. It would be recalled that the Chairman of the Nigeria Governors’ Forum (NGF) and Ekiti State governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, had advised his colleagues to go for the test because of their exposure . The governors that are yet to make their status known are those of Akwa Ibom, Rivers, Delta, Enugu, Zamfara, Kano, Jigawa, Adamawa, Taraba, Gombe and Lagos state. The rest are those of Plateau, Sokoto, Yobe, Kwara, Benue, Ebonyi, Kogi, Imo and Abia.
However, three governors have tested positive for the novel coronavirus and made their status known using different platforms
They include Bala Abdulkadir Mohammed of Bauchi; Nasir El-Rufai of Kaduna; and Seyi Makinde of Oyo State. Nigerians from across the divide had commended what the three governors did, saying declaring their status was a good example and will encourage many people to go for the test.
The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) had reportedly written to all the governors to self-isolate after undergoing test for COVID-19 as a precautionary measure. Daily Trust tally revealed that the results of thirteen governors who subjected themselves for the novel coronavirus test came out negative. They are the governors of Kebbi, Katsina, Osun, Ekiti, Edo, Bayelsa, Ogun, Ondo, Nasarawa, Niger, Cross River, Anambra and Borno.

Related News

Leave a comment...