Osun Decides: APC's Oyetola beats PDP's Adeleke to Osun governorship seat

Nigeria's electoral commission, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), has declared the APC's governorship aspirant Gboyega Isiaka Oyetola as the winner of ther Osun governorship election following the rerun election held in seven polling units.

The chief returning officer for the election, Professor Joseph Adeola Fuwape, declared Oyetola as Governor-elect in the early hours of Friday morning.

Oyetola scored 255,505 votes to beat his closest rival Ademola Adeleke of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party who got 255,023 votes -a difference of 482 votes.

Gboyega Isiaka Oyetola will succeed Rauf Aregbesola as the governor of Osun state on 27 November, 2018.

Meanwhile the People's Democratic Party's candidate, Ademola Adeleke, has rejected the result of the election as announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission on Friday.

Adeleke said this in a statement released by his campaign organisation's spokesperson, Mr Olawale Rasheed in Osogbo.

The PDP candidate said he would seek legal redress and retrieve his stolen mandate at the tribunal.

He alleged that during the rerun, voters were deliberately refused access to polling points at gun points while those allowed to voting centres were coerced into voting APC.

He also added that so of his party agents were arrested, beaten up and shut out of polling centres while roads were blocked to stop voters and observers.

"Applying all standards, today's supplementary poll is a non-event as all norms of the electoral process are violated," he said.

Summary of results

Registered Voters: 1,678,985
Accredited voters: 775687

Valid Votes : 721,621

Rejected votes: 47874

Total votes cast`; 769495

Adeoti of ADP: 49,743 votes

Adeleke of PDP: 255023

Oyetola of APC: 255,505

Omisore of SDP: 128053

Related News

Leave a comment...