Cristiano Ronaldo, Mohamed Salah, Luka Modric make UEFA Player of the Year shortlist

UEFA have announced their final shortlists for the Men's and Women's Player of the Year awards, with Lionel Messi missing the cut

Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric and Mohamed Salah make the final three-man list for the men's award, with Wolfsburg's Pernille Harder and Lyon duo Ada Hegerberg and Amandine Henry are up for the women's award

Ronaldo and Modric won the Champions League for Real Madrid against Salah's Liverpool in the final, while Hegerberg and Henry scored against Harder's Wolfsburg in Lyon's triumph in the Women's Champions League

The 2016-17 men's award was won by Ronaldo, who finished ahead of Messi and Gianluigi Buffon

Ronaldo has been in the final three for the award for every year since its inception in 2010, while this is the third time Messi has missed the final three He has also won the award on three occasions compared to Messi's two

The only other recipients of the award apart from Ronaldo and Messi are Andres Iniesta and Franck Ribery, who won the 2011-12 and 2012-13 awards respectively

Of the three finalists for the women's award, only Hegerberg has won before, claiming the title in 2015-16

The Norway international scored 15 goals in Lyon's Champions League winning campaign last season

The winners of the awards will be announced during the 2018-19 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on Aug

The other award shortlists
Goalkeeper of the Season: Alisson Becker, Gianluigi Buffon, Keylor Navas
Defender of the Season: Marcelo, Sergio Ramos, Raphal Varane
Midfielder of the Season: Kevin De Bruyne, Toni Kroos, Luka Modri?
Forward of the Season: Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Mohamed Salah
Europa League Player of the Season: Diego Godn, Antoine Griezmann, Dimitri Payet


Related News

Review News

Rating: 0.0/5 (0 Review(s) )

Leave a comment...