FG to establish Broadband Optic Fibre in Niger Delta

Speaking on sideline of the Town Hall Meeting of the South-South geopolitical zone held in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State, Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Pastor Usani Uguru said that the Ministry was making arrangements with an investor to establish broadband optic fibre telecommunication system in the state, with a view to creating employment opportunities for the youths of the Niger
Delta region.

The Minister also appealed to the militant groups bombing oil and gas facilities in the region to lay down their arms and embrace dialogue with Government; assuring them of Government's determination to complete all ongoing developmental projects in the region. He warned that no meaningful development could take place in the region, when there was an atmosphere of crisis; as it would only scare investors away.

He advised Niger Deltans to give the Federal Government the opportunity to develop the region and remove political affiliation from developmental issues.

On the Ministry's flagship contract, Uguru disclosed that the contract for the construction of Section Five of the East West Road ( Oron to Calabar) will be reviewed soon with the contractor before commencement of work on the project.

He explained that the review was necessitated by the fact that the contract was earlier awarded in dollars and a need arose to do something on the alignment on the road for economic reasons.

Uguru disclosed further that the mandate and vision of the Ministry of Niger Delta Affairs was being reviewed to fast-tract well co-ordinated projects and programmes in the Niger Delta region.

He added that a development strategy that involves participation of benefiting communities, Local Government Areas, State Governments, other government agencies, development partners and other stakeholders on project conception, implementation and completion in the Niger Delta region was being put in place.

In order to address the security challenge in the Niger Delta region, the minister disclosed that an inter agency security committee had been inaugurated comprised of the Ministries of Niger Delta Affairs, Information and Culture, Interior, Niger Delta Development Commission, the Amnesty Office, Institute of Peace and Conflict Resolution, the Nigerian Army, the Nigerian Navy, the Nigerian Police Force and the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps.

Related News

Review News

Rating: 0.0/5 (0 Review(s) )